Political Winners & Losers

Representative Nancy Peterson, D-Ashland:  co-owner of Bloomsbury Books, in the Oregon House in 1984, died 1997,

Senator Lenn Hannon started as a Democrat and later became a Republican, served on the Ways & Means Committee, SOU Library named after him.

Jackson County Commission Carol Doty elected in 1974, helped establish the county's first air-quality committee, emissions testing for vehicles, pushed to reduce woodstove smoke, worked with the wood products industry to reduce sawdust and carbon particulates and worked with fruit growers to replace smudge pots with windmills.  Now on the board of the Jackson County Library District.

Senator Alan Bates, D-Medford: elected to the Oregon Hous ein 2000 and the Senate in 2004, primary architect of the Oergon Health Plan.  Died suddenly of a heart attack at 71 in 2016.

Jackson County Commissioner Sue Kupillas, served 16 terms, helped form the White City Community Improvement Association and the White City Urban Renewal Agency in 1990. 

Oregon Secretary of State Dennis Richardson, elected to Oregon House in 2002, lost to Gov. John Kitzhaber in 2014 but was elected Secratry of State in 2016.

Lou Hannum, former Medford mayorfrom 1982 to 1986 celebrated his 100th birthday in 2015.

Lindsay Berryman, the first and only female mayor of Medford, joined the Medford City Council in the 1980s and was may for 2 terms starting in 1999.

Al Densmore, former Medford mayor from 1977 to 1983. At age 24 in 1971 he was elected to the Oregon House and was elected three more times.

Former Jackson county Commissioner Jon Deason served three terms. He supported many big changes, wiritng a home rule charter, creating the county administrator post, introducing computers, creating the new fairgrounds and making the tax collector a new office intead of a job of the sheriff.

Former Jackson County Commissioner Ric Holt served 12 years, retired in 2002 and died in 2015 at age 77.

Tam Moore was elected Jackson County Commissioner in 1974 and served one term

Senator Lynn Newbry, D-Talent, served in the Oregon Senate from 1961 to 1974, was an orchardist and poweful abiter of the state's budget on the Wyas & Means committee.  He died at 89 in 2012.

U.S. congressman John Dellenback, D.-Medford, served four terms, spearheaded creation of Oregn Dunes National Recreation Area, a law to make shippers and pipeine responsible for iol spill and supported title IX.  Died in 2002.

U. S. Congressman Bob Duncan, D. Medford from 1963 to 1967.  Was defeated in elections for  the U.S. Senate by Mark Hatfield and Wayne Morse.Died in 2011.

Bob Smith was elected to the Oregon House in 1962, speaker for two sessions, starting in 1969.  He was elected to Congress in 1982 and served six terms.

Wes Cooley was a one-term congressman with a knack for scandal. He stepped down from Congress when it was found that his statement in the Voter's Pamphlet that he'd served in the Army Special Forces in Korea wasn't true and he was charged with keeping his marriage secret so his wife could keep getting verterns's benefits from a previous marriage.  He was convicted in 2009 in Californica and served some jail time.  Died in 2015.

pp.. 21, 29, 34, 41, 90


File location: 

979.527 M3, Our Valley, 2017

Source Reference: