As It Was Stories

As It Was stories are created by volunteers who are interested in sharing the history of the mythical State of Jefferson. Each day Jefferson Public Radio presents a new As It Was vignette. On this website you can read all of the stories, or search for your favorites. Click on the Jefferson Public Radio links provided if you wish to listen to a podcast or read the full text of stories published before September 2013.

Displaying 166 - 180 of 3508


Episode 3361, Wednesday, Jan. 10, 2018, by Kernan Turner

Episode 3360, Tuesday, Jan. 9, 2018, by Gail Fiorini-Jenner

Episode 3359, Monday, Jan. 8, 2018, by Alice Mullaly

Episode 3358, Friday, Jan. 5,2018, by Kernan Turner

Episode 3357, Thursday, Jan. 4, 2018, by Sharon Bywater

Episode 3356, Wednesday, Jan. 3, 2018, by Laurel Gerkman

Episode 3355, Tuesday, Jan. 2, 2018, by Kernan Turner

Episode 3354, Monday, Jan. 1, 2018, by Luana Loffer Corbin

Episode 3353, Friday, Dec. 29, 2017, by Laurel Gerkman

Episode 3352, Thursday, Dec. 28, 2017, by Lynda Demsher

Episode 3351, Wednesday, Dec. 27, 2017, by Emily Blakely

Episode 3350, Tuesday, Dec. 26, 2017, by Emily Blakely

Episode 3349, Monday, Dec. 25, 2017, by Gail Fiorini-Jenner

Episode 3348, Friday, Dec. 22, 2017, by Laurel Gerkman

Episode 3347, Thursday, Dec. 21, 2017, by Maryann Mason

Pages

To search the full text of stories published prior to 2013, search the Jefferson Public Radio Archives (this link will open in a new window)

Episode As It Was Stories by Carol Barrett
82 Whale Island (humpback whales, fish processing) In the Coast section of the As It
81 North-South Road (Hudson Bay Company) In the Early Days section of the As
80 Klamath Telephones (Hessig, Indian Agency) In the Business section of the As
79 S.S. Bmvmnore (Grounded ship) In the Coast section of the As It
78 Rogue River Cannon (George Cook) In the Coast section of the As It
77 Christmas (electric tree lights) In the Business section of the As
76 Telephone and Telegraph (Dr. Elijah Pickel, Haskin) In the Business section of the As
75 Fourth of July (celebration, picnic) In the Coast section of the As It
74 Steamer Alaskan (Cape Blanco wreck) In the Coast section of the As It
73 Side Wheel Steamer America (burned) In the Coast section of the As It
72 Box Factory (Algoma Lumber Company) In the Business section of the As
71 Weed (Abner E, sawmill/mercantile) In the Business section of the As
70 Wagons Over the Mountains (1844, Elisha Stevens0 In the Explorers and Trappers
69 Willamette Cattle Company (1837, Ewing Young, ) In the Explorers and Trappers
68 Old Fort Umpqua (1836, John McLoughlin, ) In the Explorers and Trappers

Pages

CSV